Local Sports Partnerships

The Irish Sports Council in its first strategy - A New Era for Sport - promoted the notion of Local Sports Partnerships that would promote participation in sport at a local level. During the period covered by this strategy, the ISC established its first twelve Local Sports Partnerships (LSPs) - Clare, county Cork, Donegal, Fingal, Kildare, Laois, Limerick city, Meath, North Tipperary, Roscommon, Sligo and Waterford. In our second strategy - Sport for Life - the ISC again supported the continued expansion of the LSP network, with a further four LSPs - Kerry, Kilkenny, Mayo and Westmeath - established in 2004.

In 2005 the Department of Arts, Sport and Tourism commissioned Fitzpatrick Associates, Economic Consultants to undertake a review of the Council's Local Sports Partnership Programme. The Fitzpatrick Report was presented to the Department in October 2005. The report endorsed the LSP concept advising that with the implementation of 12 specific recommendations the programme should be rolled out nationally on a phased basis. Since the publication of our new strategy; Building Sport for Life 2006-2008, the remaining 17 LSP's have been established and we now have full national coverage.


For more information or to find your nearest local sports partnership use the interactive LSP Contact Finder